I have been using Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) to treat my severe obstructive sleep apnea with extreme hypoxia since August of 2003. In November of 2006 I was severely assaulted and robbed which added a whole new series of challenges regarding my CPAP therapy. Stress and CPAP do not play well or easily.

Here I hope to relate my experience and much of the research that has helped me find ways to continue to use CPAP effectively.

I hope to start with why we need good treatment for Sleep Apnea

  • It’s affects on the brain
  • The resultant effects on the ability to work
  • The resultant effects on the ability to relate to people
  • Other effects on our health

Then I hope to start looking at what CPAP is supposed to do

  • The basic theory
  • The process of diagnosis
  • The process of titration

Then I hope to start looking at what CPAP actually does

  • some basic limitations with diagnosis and titration
  • additional factors which affect sleep apnea
  • how usable is CPAP?
  • How treatment is monitored

 

 

